Last updated on:
Tuesday, 18 August 2020

Implementation of national SD priorities at the regional and local levels of governance is achieved through a strategic network named ‘Vital Municipalities’. It has to a large degree replaced the former LA21 processes. Vital Municipalities is an agreement on cooperation between the National Association of Local and Regional Authorities (NALRA) and the Ministry of the Environment. A supplementary agreement named “Green Energy Municipalities” has been implemented between the Government and 21 municipalities and 1 county. See a more detailed description of the initiatives under “Sub-national activities” below.