Last updated on:
Tuesday, 18 August 2020

The National Council of Sustainable Development (NCSD) was established in 1997. The NCSD has 36 members: ¼ is appointed by the Government (most often academics) and ¾ by industry, trade unions, environment NGOs and local communities. It is in administrative terms linked to the Ministry of Environment but has an independent secretariat. The President of the NCSD is appointed by the Prime Minister. The NCSD is an advisory body to the Government and Parliament on all SD issues and should act towards consensus-building among the members.